10 Examples of Regional Dialect in Indonesia

Indonesia has 652 regional languages. Of the total number of regional languages in Indonesia, there are at most Papua Province, about 400 languages. The local language in Papua is very large because one community with other communities has their own language, which among them does not understand each other. From some of the languages of the area, it is still divided into different dialects in each area. Here are the examples of regional dialect in Indonesia you need to see. Some of the dialects even have been popular in Indonesia.

  1. Javanese language

Javanese language is especially spoken by Indonesian people especially in central and eastern Java. Even overseas there are also Javanese speakers, including Suriname, New Caledonia, Malaysia, and Singapore.

Javanese has several levels, such as Ngoko, Madya, and Krama. According to 2000 census data, Javanese speakers in Indonesia are 84 million more. Javanese has several dialects, such as: dialect of Banten, Banyumas, Blora, Brebes, Bumiayu, Cirebon, Kedu, Madiun, Malang, East Pantura (Jepara, Rembang, Demak, Kudus, Pati), Pantura East Java (Tuban, Bojonegoro) Pekalongan , Semarang, Serang, Surabaya, Surakarta, Suriname, and Tegal.

  1. Sundanese Dialect

Bahasa Sunda is spoken by Indonesian people in the western part of Java. This language is not only spoken in the western part of Java but also spoken on various islands in Indonesia by Sundanese migrating to the place. According to 2000 census data, Sundanese is spoken by 34 million people.

Sundanese has several dialects, including the western dialect (Banten Selatan), the northern dialect (Bogor and the surrounding area), the southern dialect / dialect of Priangan (Bandung and its surroundings, eastern middle dialect (Majalengka and its surroundings), the eastern dialect (Kuningan and surrounding ), southeastern dialect (Ciamis and surroundings).

Read also:

  1. Minangkabau Dialects

The Minangkabau language is spoken by people in the Province of West Sumatra, the western part of Riau, and Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia. In addition, there are also many regions, as many Minangkabau people are traveling outside of their area. According to the 2007 census, the Minangkabau language is spoken by at least 5 million people.

The Minangkabau language has many dialects, including the Minangkabau Baku (Padang dialect), Mandahiling Kuti Anyie, Padang Panjang, Pariaman, Ludai, Batang River, Kurai, Kuranji, Salimpaung Batusangkar, and Rao-Rao Batusangkar.

  1. Musi Dialects

The Musi language is the language spoken by the community along the upstream and downstream Musi river, South Sumatra Province. Musi language is also known as Sekayu language and Palembang language. The speakers of this language according to the 2000 census are 3.9 million.

The Musi language has several dialects, among them Pegagan dialect, Musi Sekayu, Penampang, Kelingi, Rawas; Palembang, Old Palembang, Merchant, Importer, Belide, Burai, and Lematang Ilir.

Read also:

  1. Madurese dialects

Madura language is spoken by Indonesian people especially in Madura island and north coast area of East Java (Probolinggo and its surroundings). Madurese language is also widely spoken in Surabaya and surrounding areas, Malang and surrounding areas, Masalembo islands, to Kalimantan.

Madurese language is heavily influenced by Javanese, Malay, Bugis, Chinese, and so forth. Many of the words of this language are rooted in the Malay language, even until the Minangkabau language. According to 2000 census data, Madurese speakers are about 13 million people. Madurese language has several dialects, including dialects Bangkalan, Sampang, Pamekasan, Sumenep, and Kangean.

  1. Aceh Dialects

The Aceh language is the language spoken by the Acehnese in the coast, in the interior, and part of the Aceh archipelago. This language is spoken in Aceh province except 3 subdistricts in East Aceh using Gayo language, and 1 subdistrict in Aceh Barat Daya that uses Kluet language.

According to the 2000 census, speakers of this language amount to 3.5 million. The language of Aceh has several dialects, including the dialects of Banda Aceh, Baruh, Bueng, Daja, Pase, Pidie (Pedir, Timu), and Tunong.

Read also:

  1. Banjar Dialects

The Banjar language is the language spoken by the Banjar tribe in South Kalimantan. This language is also spoken in other areas such as Central Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, and Indragiri Hilir Regency, Riau. Abroad, the Banjar language is also spoken by the Banjar tribe in Malaysia. This language is influenced by the Malay, Javanese, and Dayak languages.

According to the 2000 population census, speakers of this language amount to 3.5 million. This language has two main dialects, namely dialects Kuala and Hulu. The dialect of Banjar Kuala is spoken by residents of Banjarmasin, Martapura, and Pelaihari. While upstream dialects are spoken by residents in upstream areas.

  1. Bugis dialects

The Bugis language is the language spoken by the people in South Sulawesi. In addition, this language is also spoken in other areas of the province of Sulawesi besides South Sulawesi, Kalimantan, Maluku, Papua, Sumatra, and even in Sabah, Malaysia.

According to the 1991 census this language is spoken by about 3.5 million people. The Bugis language has several dialects, including dialects Bone, Pangkep, Camba, Sidrap, Pasangkayu, Sinjai, Soppeng, Wajo, Barru, Sawitto, and Luwu.

Read also:

  1. Betawi dialects

Betawi language is a creole (based) language based on the Malay Language Market plus Sundanese, Javanese, Balinese, Southern Chinese (mainly Hokkian), Arabic, and European languages (especially Dutch and Portuguese). The Betawi settlement area indirectly divides the limitation of dialectical usage. Betawi dialect not only in Jakarta but has expanded to various regions such as, Bekasi, Bogor and Tangerang regencies. The boundaries of the two regions of the dialect are still uncertain.

Kebayoran, Rawamangun and Grogol areas are arguably the boundaries of the two dialects. However, due to the rapid influx of residents in DKI Jakarta area, the boundary of the area has become unclear. If divided according to the outline Betawi territory has two dialect areas, the Central Betawi dialect / Betawi City and also the Betawi dialect of the Betawi / Betawi dialect.

  1. Balinese dialects

Balinese language is the language spoken by the People on the island of Bali, western Lombok, and the eastern tip of Java. In Lombok, Balinese language is spoken mainly around the city of Mataram, while in Java is spoken in several villages in Banyuwangi.

As in Javanese, Balinese also has several levels, such as Bali Kasar, Bali Madya, and Bali Alus. Balinese language is in Sasak language, and several languages in Sumbawa. Balinese language has a variety of dialects, including the Bali Lowland dialect (Klungkung, Karangasem, Buleleng, Gianyar, Tabanan, Jembrana, Badung), the Bali Plateau (“Bali Aga”), and Nusa Penida.

After reading all above those dialects of regional language, you might think that Indonesia is a rich country with its diversity in language. It is really great country with the unity of its multiculturalism.